Solar eclipse in Capricorn – January 2019

New moon / Solar eclipse at 15° Capricorn

6 Jan 2019, 11:28 am AEST (Brisbane); Solar eclipse 11.41 am

6 Jan 2019, 1:28 am UTC (London); Solar eclipse 1.41 am

5 Jan 2019, 8.28 pm EST (New York); Solar eclipse 8.28 pm

 

This new moon in Capricorn is also a solar eclipse. A solar eclipse occurs when the moon moves directly between the Earth and the Sun, and casts a shadow on the Earth’s surface. (This eclipse is visible in East Asia and the Northern Pacific.)

Solar eclipses happen when a new moon happens near the South Node. Astrologically, the South Node is about letting go and has a spiritualising influence.

The South Node is in Capricorn and the new moon / solar eclipse is conjunct Saturn, also in Capricorn. Capricorn’s ruling planet is Saturn, so Saturn is strong in his home sign.

This eclipse is the perfect time to look deeper into your Saturn in Capricorn story. What is testing you over the longer term? What goal are you working towards? Is it going to plan? Will you stay the course?

It may be time to revise your plans in response to the hard evidence you’ve collected since Saturn moved into Capricorn in December 2017.

Saturn is approaching a sextile to Neptune, an aspect that will perfect three times this year. Neptunian surrender takes on the real world forms of Saturn, echoing the themes of release stirred by the South Node.

Another relevant background aspect is the first square of Jupiter to Neptune (another signature aspect of 2019). The expansive enthusiasm of Jupiter in Sagittarius keeps the Neptune-in-Pisces dream afloat, but it’s Saturnian grit and grind that will make it a reality.

This new moon is a time to commit to the hard work required or to let the bubble burst.

What does it mean for your sign? Head to the horoscopes to find out.

New moon in Capricorn January 2019
New moon in Capricorn January 2019

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *